

**President** 

Bart Niswonger Worthington, MA

Vice President

Maggie Sasso Saint Francis, WI

**Secretary** 

Sarah Marriage Baltimore, MD

Treasurer

Kathy Sharp Woodbury, TN

**Immediate Past President** 

Forest Dickey Seattle, WA

**Board of Trustees** 

Michael Jean Cooper Sebastopol, CA

Karen Ernst Edinboro, PA

Thomas Hucker Jersey City, NJ

Heath Matysek-Snyder Mechanicsville, VA

Adam Manley San Diego, CA

Jennifer-Navva Milliken Philadelphia, PA

**Executive Director** 

Monica Hampton

**Director of Education** 

Jessica Baldenhofer

**Administrator** 

Erika Diamond

AOD AWARD TROPHY DESIGN CONTEST

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS

DEADLINE MARCH 29, 2019

The Furniture Society is pleased to announce a **Call for Submissions** to design and create a **Trophy** to be presented to the **Award of Distinction honorees** for the next 3 years. We welcome all professional and student members to apply for this prestigious opportunity. The design should be made to honor the spirit of the Award of Distinction program and should reflect our gratitude to the honorees for their service to the greater Furniture-making community. Winners will be selected by a jury process.

In addition to promotion of their design by The Furniture Society, the winner of this design contest will receive a complimentary 3-Day Pass to the upcoming Conference FS19: Groundwork: Inspiration, Intersections, and Experimentation of Furniture Practice (June 19-22, 2019 in Milwaukee, WI). The Furniture Society will cover material costs not to exceed \$400 worth of expenses (reimbursable with receipts and in total for all three trophies). Cost of shipping the award to each conference location will be covered by The Furniture Society.

The Award of Distinction program was instituted in 2001 and is presented during The Furniture Society's annual conference to honor individuals and institutions who have had a profound impact on the field and whose lives, work and efforts have strengthened the fabric of the Furniture Society's community. Past honorees include Sam Maloof, James Krenov, Tage Frid, Wendell Castle, Art Espenet Carpenter, John Makepeace, Alan Peters, Jere Osgood, Jonathan Fairbanks, William Keyser, Garry Knox Bennett, Judy Kensley McKie, Tommy Simpson, Michael Fortune, Walker Weed, Wendy Maruyama, Vladimir Kagan, John Cederquist, Rosanne Somerson, and Craig Nutt.

## Timeline:

- Deadline to receive proposals via email: midnight EST on March 29, 2019
- Notification Date of Design Contest winner: April 11, 2019

The Furniture Society
POB 6323, Libertyville, IL 60048
info@furnituresociety.org
828.581.9663
www.furnituresociety.org



**President** 

Bart Niswonger Worthington, MA

Vice President

Maggie Sasso Saint Francis, WI

Secretary

Sarah Marriage Baltimore, MD

**Treasurer** 

Kathy Sharp Woodbury, TN

**Immediate Past President** 

Forest Dickey Seattle, WA

**Board of Trustees** 

Michael Jean Cooper Sebastopol, CA

Karen Ernst Edinboro, PA

Thomas Hucker Jersey City, NJ

Heath Matysek-Snyder Mechanicsville, VA

Adam Manley San Diego, CA

Jennifer-Navva Milliken Philadelphia, PA

**Executive Director** 

Monica Hampton

**Director of Education** 

Jessica Baldenhofer

Administrator Erika Diamond

Announcement of winner to membership: April 24, 2019

Award Completion Date: June 3, 2019

## Please include the following in your submission:

- Artist's Name & Contact Information
- Artist's CV/resume
- 3 to 5 renderings or images of proposed Award Trophy (300 dpi, .jpg or .tif)
- Short paragraph (up to 300 words) describing the materials, fabrication methods, and design choices for the proposed trophy.

Email submissions by midnight EST on March 29, 2019

to info@furnituresociety.org with "AoD Trophy Submission" in subject line.

## **Design Parameters:**

- Weight not to exceed 3 lbs.
- Footprint not to exceed 8" x 8" and height between 8-12"
- Trophy must be durable enough to be shipped with confidence to multiple locations.
- Trophy must be replicated 3 times by the designer to be presented to the honorees for 3 consecutive years.
- Materials being proposed should be indicated as part of the design submissions.
- Design must allow for a space on the trophy itself in a prominent place measuring up to 2" x 3" for a small plaque to include the Honoree Name and Year.
- The winning designer will be responsible for creating and attaching this plaque and shipping to each conference location for 2019, 2020, and 2021.

The Furniture Society
POB 6323, Libertyville, IL 60048
info@furnituresociety.org
828.581.9663
www.furnituresociety.org